What a Cool Little Town

Well first off I regret to inform you that I will not be able to provide you with visual content while I am in Sichuan.  My compter does not want to cooperate with Fran and Gill’s internet connection so I have been graciously allowed to use their computer for my email and blog.  However since all of my movies and pictures of this interesting little town are on my machine, I am not able to post them without considerable time and effort.  So being as I am a guest, I would rather spend that time with Fran and Gill instead of in front of a compter transferring data or messing with network settings.

Ok so now that the disclaimer is out-of-the-way, let’s get to a brief synopsis of today.  So let me think.

Keywords:  Smiles, stares, eels, chickens, numb tongues, traffic, mountains, fuzzy motorized animals, high rises, mud huts.

That about sums up the day.  So today about the time you all were eating dinner on Saturday night, we headed down the street for fresh cooked local breakfast.  Delicious pork and rice in a soy-like sauce wrapped in a dumpling-like dough.  Sounds like and odd breakfast to our western ears, but it was awesome.  With that fueling our bellies we embarked on a day long journey hopping from bus to bus going from end of town to another, and then outside the city limits to rural villages.  We stopped in fruit markets, flower markets, meat markets, poultry markets, rice markets, and spice markets.  Really just about any kind of market you can think of we stopped at.  The live eels are what really stand out to me.  I’ll post some video of our walks through these markets when I get a chance.

All the while Francis and Gilbert and I had a great time getting caught up on their new lives in China.  It has been a GREAT day.

Obviously I miss my kiddos terribly, but Fran and Gill’s awesome kids have really helped me cope.  Little Miss has become my sidekick and follow me around quite a bit.  She holds my hand crossing streets and sits on lap whenever there is chance.  She is so adorable.  Have the two of then around is priceless.

I have no idea what is on the agenda for tomorrow.  But I am sure it will involve me saying “Wow” a lot.  I watched some of the video I took today and all that stood out was how many times I said “wow”.  It’s just that kinda place.

But at the end of the day, the Fran and Gill family are doing well.  They and their children are very well suited for life in Sichuan.  They adapt well and are certainly where God wants them to be.

~ by shanesthoughts on March 7, 2010.

3 Responses to “What a Cool Little Town”

  1. haha… I was going to start by saying “wow”!
    I am so glad to hear things are going so well! What a great experience!
    Wish I could see your pics, but I can wait I suppose 🙂
    Hope you have a great week- talk to you soon
    Love you!

  2. Hey bro do Fran and Gill speak the native language? How has overcoming that barrier been? Can’t wait to see the pics!

    • They are learning the language. They have learned a ton, but have much, much more to learn. It is definitely an area that they need prayer on. Learning Chinese is obvioulsy not an easy proposition. They don’t realize how far they have come either. They see how far they have to go, but sometimes have a hard time putting it in perspective of where they have been.

Leave a Reply

 
